This trimester is a real challenge and I’ve got to admit that’s maybe the first time I get q bit behind my assignments. Hopefully I am learning a lot and I’m glad to be part of this course.

I went for a bit of Good News hunting these past weeks to break up with the constant amount of pressure I’m dealing with.
As often, music was my way out and I had the privilege to being offered the last ‘A Tribe Called Quest’ album.

We Got It from Here… Thank You 4 Your Service  has been released on November 11th.
18 years after their last album ATCQ decided it was time to remind what was Hip Hop to them.

After The Love Movement, A Tribe Called Quest split up due to relationship issues between group members, effectively rendering The Love Movement as the supposed final album. For years on out, Tribe denied that any new material was recorded, or even planned, although they reunited briefly to play several shows during Kanye West’s Yeezus Tour in 2013. On November 13, 2015, the group performed on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, the same night of the Paris attacks. Feeling “charged”, the group put aside their differences, and decided to record the album in secrecy. Q-Tip has stated it is their last album.

The album exhibits the classic Tribe sound: a warm and crisp confluence of East Coast hip-hop, jazz, and more, all mixed and mastered impeccably.

It is a real chance from my perspective to be here and alive for this realease. I’ve rarely heard an Hip Hop album so much drown into sound design and audacious mixing compromises.

I recommend it to anyone.

Hip Hop is Alive.

Leave a Reply

