Sound-A-Like Assignement : Mixing and Conclusions.

 

This week’s blog reflects on the overall project.
After  5 weeks, we finally came throught a final mix of our project and I’m going to discuss around it.
First and foremost a huge thanks to Trinsky who really helped us a lot and made myself improve on some points.

I have to say that I was pretty happy with all the recording parts. We had amazing artists tha gave us a right performance and some legendary outboard gear to pump out the production level !

MIXING WISE, I got to say that it’s up and down in my opinion.

The reason ? TIME ! Even thought we fought ourselves ready enough to go for the session, enough was not enough and the guys spent half of the day re-editing or adding some corrective eq’s. The other half of the day was awesome and we spent some time mixing the  kicks, snares, overheads and claps for the drums. Guitars were passed throught the distressors and it really help us give it some warmth. I also spent time adjusting the vocals parameters like EQ and compression.I really have a bad opinion of the reverbs we did and also really insist on the fact that we should have edited vocals tuning with Melodyne or a similar software. In the end of the day, the keyword really was “BALANCE”. We played our version along and against the original track to get closer and closer to it by tweaking inserts and sends. We also compressed gently the master bus with the built in compressor from the Audient console.

So about the final product, I’m not sure, you can be the judge…
In my opinion, there are really good elements in our Sound-A-Like, we got pretty close to some recording sounds acording to the few resources we had. I can agree that some elements sound messy but we’re still learning right ? 🙂

SEND ME YOUR QUESTIONS I’LL TRY TO BE MORE PRECISE ABOUT WHAT DID WE EXACTLY ACHIEVED IN THE MIX!

I’m now going to avoid any copyright issues by keeping this low so have and listen and please don’t share the link. :p

THANKS TO SAE GROUP 1. GREAT TEAMWORK !

 

 

Leave a Reply

